Blog Additions

Hey all! I apologize for my ridiculous absence from blogging, but I had a bit of a vacation, as well as holidays that were keeping me busy as ever. I’m going to devote my next few posts to updates on what I’ve been up to, holidays, and whatever random words I feel the need to put on the Internet.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this blog lately, and how I often seem to fall into blogging ruts. I know that everyone gets them from time to time, but I especially feel like they’re there more often than not for me. After thinking for the past few weeks on this subject, I’ve decided to try a new spin on this blog; something that will make it more exciting for me, and hopefully for my readers as well.

I am an International Development and Environment student currently, which basically summarizes my passions. I know that some who are students are studying only which academic they find to be the most relevant or interesting, or even which they have a passion in, but for me, this is not just an academic decision. This is wholeheartedly the way I wish to live my life and fulfill my happiness and that of those around me; by living the ways that I explore and discover through this program.

I often get the response when I explain what program I’m studying: “Oh, cool….um, what is that exactly?”. So here we go: International Development has no definition. You can’t really explain it. And whenever I try to explain it, I feel like I’m putting limitations on it. The best way I can describe it is that it is a multi-disciplinary (most commonly through the fields of social sciences) and holistic approach to the study and promotion of human development, which, for me, generally involves the promotion or increase of human rights and quality of life. Additionally, I have also chosen to do a specialization in Environment within International Development, which basically explores the relations, interactions and impacts between humans and the environment. I’ll stop with the academic terms and explanations now.

My point (yes, there is a point to all this confusing-ness!) is that I love these subjects and areas with a great passion; and have come to decide to write more blog posts related to these. I hope that by doing so, I am better able to keep on track with my posting schedule and just ENJOY this blog more!

So! Starting this week, expect more posts on human impact on the environment, as well as development-related topics. But please, don’t fear, I am quite liberal and accepting of alternate opinions and views, and am not going to write posts that aim to strike fear and guilt into your hearts, or pressure readers to make unrealistic changes in their lifestyles. I just hope that along with my other post topics, readers are able to connect with and find interest in these subjects as well.

That’s all for this post (thanks so much for reading all the way through if you did!). I’ll be doing my best to keep on track and make Sweeter Music the best that it can be :)

Leave a Reply

