The Best People You Know

Photo Credit

It’s a given that there are some friends in our lives that we take for granted. Maybe they’re the ones we’ve known the longest, or who we never seem to hang out with anymore. Fair enough. But what about the people who you take for granted by not mutually returning the incredible way that they treat you, or care for you?

Recently, I’ve come to realize that there are some people in my life that I would classify as The Best People I Know. And, simple as that, they are basically the best type of human being that I know. I’ll always remember in English class in high school, while reading To Kill A Mockingbird, my teacher announced that in her opinion, Atticus Finch (the father of Jem and Scout; the lawyer, for those of you who don’t remember as clearly) was the ideal human being. Based on his characteristics, qualities and morals. The Best People I Know are like that too; there is something so significantly honourable about them.

I’m lucky enough to have quite a few people within this category present in my life. While none of them are my “best” friends, or the people I hang out with the most often, I think that this makes them all the more special. Because you expect great things from your best friends; you expect them to be there for you, and always listen when you need to cry, or yell, or just sit silently with someone. But the Best People You Know come out of nowhere and earn their title without wanting anything else in return.

Basically, these people just make you feel…well, great. Special. Like you really mean something to them. Or maybe they just give you hope that not everyone in the word is selfish and too busy to care.

I’ve noticed that in my life, these people often have similar defining traits. In the case of a few of them, I have never once heard them say anything negative about another person. Ever. I completely acknowledge how difficult that is to maintain and commit to, which just adds to their greatness in my books. Other times, these people have gone absolutely above and beyond any expectations I have had of them as friends. Or some just always have my best interests in mind, never cut me down, and make me feel like I’m just as important in their lives as they are in their own. Unbelievable.

Photo Credit

Which gets me to wondering…am I a “best person you know” to someone else? I know most of the people I’m thinking of in my head would hardly consider themselves having a spot on my own list. So maybe we all mean a little bit more in the lives of others than we think.

Also interesting to consider: the qualities that have led me to consider some friends to be in this particular category are things that I have always wanted to encompass and have people associate with me. I want to be the person who never says negative or disrespectful things about others. I want to put others before myself, commit to small acts of kindness, and reduce selfishness. I want to want the best for my friends, avoid jealousy, and actively support my them in their lives.

I want to challenge you to reflect and think about these things. Who are the Best People You Know? What puts them in that category for you? Do you treat them just as well as they treat you? How could you become a Best Person You Know to someone else? And what are the characteristics or traits you respect and appreciate the most?

Leave a Reply

