Musings

My mind has been so over-run with information and thoughts and plans this week, I don’t even know where to start.

Something to know about me is that I’ve never had a problem of not knowing what I want to do in the future, in terms of anything, really – travel, school, career. But now, it’s not that I don’t know what I want to do, it’s that there are so many options that I just want to do everything! I feel like I’ve become addicted to volunteering lately, and have had to hold myself back from taking up more and more commitments.

This is an attempt to organize/update the things that have been running through my mind as of late. Maybe it will be fun to look back at this in a few months time when I’ve decided to change things or have been lucky enough to discover more opportunities!

Lent

Has been going well so far. Avoiding Facebook has been absolutely wonderful for my school work, and just time management in general. Even on the days that I can go on Facebook (every other day), I’m not tempted to anymore! It’s just a quick go on, check notifications and messages, maybe write some wall posts and etc., scope a handful of photos, and then I’m done. I’m so over reading every. single. status update of every person I ever knew. There’s just under a month left to go, and maybe things won’t even change so much once Easter is over.

Summer

I wish I had something absolutely spectacular planned for the summer, like a shiny new job or adventurous trip. At this point, it looks like I’m going to be trying to get rehired back at Starbucks for the summer. Hopefully (fingers crossed!) I can get two weeks off to spend volunteering at the summer camp I’ve been going to every year for ten years. Some additional camping trips would be wonderful as well, but I think taking two weeks off work in a row might make it difficult for me to request a lot more time off. I also got a volunteer position as a leader on a website provided by my school that is like a pre-orientation for incoming new students. Basically, spending 3 hours a week answering any questions, chatting online with students, etc. I’m pretty excited!

School

I’m still totally in love with my school. And my program. Now I just need to decide if I really want to go to grad school, or law school, or whatever. Which leads me to…

The Future

Which isn’t as daunting to me as the whole phrase “the future” sounds. I don’t know, maybe people never like it because it’s the unknown? Anyways. My current plans are as follows: finish undergrad, get an internship/job placement within an organization for no more than one year (all the money from this trip will go towards paying off any student debt and going towards…), TRAVELING everywhere! For as long as I possibly can! After that, I will decide on going to grad school, or working somewhere else. The thing is, most big organizations require students to be pursuing a Masters in order to grant internships. So, I will basically have plenty of time, traveling experience and (hopefully) related work experience by the time I have to decide all of that.

All of the above things, as well as the incredible opportunities I have in my life, make me so GRATEFUL to just be alive and well and living out my dreams.

Leave a Reply

